School Council

Every year  at the beginning of the autumn term the children at St. Joseph's democratically elect new members to the School Council. The process is the same as that to elect MPs in a General Election.


Councillors 2017-18  


5A          Sydni Howe

5H          Joe Littler

5M          Amelia Jude

6D          Archie Aitken

6H          Charlotte Reay

6S          Eve McGarry

7M          Hannah Devlin

7R          Jack Edmonds

7S          Jacob Christer

8C          Molly O'Neill

8D          Harry Davis

8S          Sam Christer 



Some Past and Current Achievements:

"News 4 U" School magazine

Stationery shop

Water Cooler

Footballs, rugby balls, netballs, basketballs for use at break and lunch times

Fresh fruit stall

Basketball rings on the playground

Increase in number of home clothes days

Disco music improved

Refurbishment of toilets

Freezing the price of disco tickets

Soap dispensers

Benches and tables for the school grounds

New additions to website

New trays in canteen for pupils during lunchtime

New arrangements for lining up for lunch

Board games for indoor breaks and lunchtimes

5 Minute Walking Zone

New mouse mats for the PCs

New sound systems for classrooms

Writing of School Eco Code

Themed discos

Nest box and feeder camera

Changes to school uniform

Quiz Night for pupils

Fun Day

"Our School Matters" agenda 

Improvements to school playground

Decorated Egg Competition

Goal posts for use at breaks and lunchtimes

E-safety DVD

National Citizenship Award for fundraising efforts

Monthly Tuck Shop

Tables for an outside quiet area

Fund raising for Nepal Earthquake Appeal